Lathyrus Blogobsessio a weed that chokes pacing

“She generally gave herself very good advice, (though she very seldom followed it).”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

Starting this site has given me a definite boost. BUT I sense something new growing which I’ll call Lathyrus Blogobsessio.  If I didn’t have ME this could be a prize winning plant leading to great success. However, in my case this should only be viewed as a weed to be dug up or at least controlled.

For me the biggest obstacle to pacing is my tendency to get really into things, and concentrate hard. It is the type of perseverance and passion that should lead to good things, but for me it chokes off other growth. For the last two years my body has simply refused to allow this or anything to grow but now with an improvement here it is again: I am now spending way too much energy on the site (see yesterday’s post – too many words for me to write in a day at the moment).

Today I have a time limit of 20 minutes from start to finish on this post (3 mins to go). What else can I do? Please give me some weeding advice.

Lathyrus Blogobsessio a new garden weed

Lathyrus Blogobsessio a new garden weed

3 thoughts on “Lathyrus Blogobsessio a weed that chokes pacing

  1. Pingback: much maligned and misunderstood: ME and stress

  2. I once suffered from that too, though the Damn Disease has managed to smother it these last few years. Yet that just left me with the more vicious weed: Stellaria media internetii v. “Web-Surfing.” I’ve tried timers. Programs like Leechblock. Rules like “no being online after 9:30pm” (which I’m breaking as I type and have been for the last hour and a half). It makes me almost miss the days of having to pay by the minute for internet access. Almost.

    Among the problems with this disease is what it’s done for my ability to be disciplined. It requires a great deal of the stuff to manage it well yet provides precious little ability to actually utilize it. Plus it’s like it creates secondary ADHD, with all of the issues of hyperfocus/impaired concentration, multiple streams of thought, and short-term memory — except I have no problem sitting still! I do sometimes wonder if those with this disease who master pacing do so because they have fewer or less severe cognitive sequalae. Or, at least, that’s what I like to tell myself even if it’s probably not true and libels those who do manage pacing better than myself.

    I’ve been reading your blog for about a month but appreciated your biopsychosocial stress post today and wanted to add my support. And then saw this post and recognized the weed. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I find technology quite helpful for managing my day eg alarms with recorded meditation etc (have you read the stoicism posts?).
      At the moment I have more of a problem with Twitter than the blog. There are always relevant tweets and requires very little concentration, which is appealing in a tired but wired state.

      Like

What do you think?

