Resource: insomnia, what works best? Sleep 4

I’ve been revisiting posts I’ve written about sleep because I’m finding it harder to get hold of liquid valerian without alcohol. My body clock is quickly going out of sync. Also with the exhaustion I find it hard to remember things which can help me.

After taking melatonin last night I’m able to write a list of the various sleep aids I have tried in a vague order of effectiveness. This is a Note to Self that may help you too. If I’ve written about these tips in more detail I provide a link to relevant posts:

  1. Liquid valerian

  2. Melatonin

  3. Amitriptyline (but stopped with side effects)

  4. Acupuncture eg anmian point

  5. Yoga Nidra

  6. Properly dark room

  7. Aromatherapy

  8. Listening to almost interesting talk radio

  9. Antihistamines

  10. Lowering temperature

  11. Acupressure

  12. Magnesium (but tablets may cause me pain)

  13. Valerian tablets or sleepy teas

  14. Reishi mushroom tablets

  15. Keeping set wakeup time

In reality I often combine several of these methods at once. For example aromatherapy may also work as a type of anchor so “time to sleep” is associated with a specific scent. Would using an aromatherapy recipe at the same time each night with melatonin mean I could eventually maintain my body clock without melatonin tablets?

Also insomnia is often actually painsomnia for me, so I sometimes need to treat the pain rather than lack of sleepiness.

5 thoughts on “Resource: insomnia, what works best? Sleep 4

    • Intriguingly I’ve recently started taking ivabradine and this has helped too. I take it for POTS to control my heart rate, it’s usually an angina drug. It seems like a lot of my insomnia has been related to tachycardia, so it’s worth thinking outside of the box.

      Liked by 1 person

      • My GP won’t prescribe any drugs, but then they don’t check BP or anything else either. Everything is simply seen as my M.E. and I probably wouldn’t trust the drugs anyway or I’ll better managed without drug treatments seems to be the assumption. It’s as if having M.E. must make me immune to all other medical conditions. I’m wondering now if my ‘insomnia’ is just my mind insisting over body that sleeping less hours during daylight and not waking to knocks at the door or the phone and having peaceful waking night-times are better for me. Thanks for dropping by and commenting Jenny 🙂

        Like

      • It’s a big problem for us the assumption that if a symptom could be ME it is, even if it could be something else that is common with ME. I missed out on POTS treatment for years because of this (and also that it isn’t well known).

        Many of these ideas above don’t involve your doctor.

        Amitriptyline is useful though, if you can tolerate it, and drs do prescribe it for ME: regulates sleep, reduces pain, improves mood, less needing to wee in the night. It got my sleep pattern back on track years ago but I couldn’t take it long term.

        Liked by 1 person

      • My doc suggested amitryptiline but I had an awful time while trying similar antidepressants and SSRIs in previous years. Now that I live alone and daily living is such a struggle, I don’t feel safe to try it while unsupervised and with no help. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on that though.

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

