Review: Rejuvenation Lotion

This year I’ve joined the Chronic Illness Bloggers Network which is a great way to share blogging ideas, chronic illness awareness, review free products and potentially get paid for reviews. This post is the first time I have been given the product as part of a product review through the Chronic Illness Bloggers network. I will always tell you at the top of a post if this is the case (or if I have been paid for a post). I hope that you can appreciate after 4 years out of work it is a definite advantage for me to be able to try things for free. You can also get a 10% discount (and free US delivery) by mentioning my code TipsforME.

Although the product was a gift, “all opinions in this review remain my own and I was in no way influenced by the company”. This is something I have often thought about when reading other people’s free product reviews. In reality getting a free product probably does influence the review in some minor ways, and that is for you to weigh up. Not paying for something probably makes me slightly more positively inclined towards it, without the inclination of thinking “why does this cost so much”? On the other hand, I usually research something quite thoroughly before buying it which makes me identify with bought products more personally than free products. It is probably harder to admit when I waste my own money.

[Edit 12th October 2016: last night I was surprised to find that this dramatically helped my postviral cough and tight asthmatic chest. This product makes no claim to have this effect but it was the camphor like smell that made me think of trying. It may be partly the slight heat from using it. Tiger Balm is a similar muscle rub style product that I’ve found helpful in the past for sinus congestion. CBD oil is thought to help asthma so that may be part of it.]

In terms of format, I’ll try to use headings which can be repeated for other reviews.

  • What is it?
  • Who made it?
  • First impressions
  • Compared to Placebo
  • Compared to Similar Product
  • Why might it work?
  • Would I buy it?

What is it?

Rejuvenation Lotion is a blend of herbs and essential oils designed to relieve joint and muscle pain. You can use Rejuvenation Lotion when applying to areas that need to be absorbed quickly, like hips, knees, shoulders, etc. It is a new product and a lotion version of the Warming CBD Muscle Rub from the same company.

You can get a 10% discount (and free US delivery) by mentioning my code TipsforME.

Who made it?

Rejuvenation Lotion is made by Fay Farm

The Fay Farm offers a variety of hand-made organic body care items. They only use all natural, organically-sourced materials and never use parabens, alcohol, mineral oil, or phthalates. This makes it a good option for those of us with Multiple Chemical Sensitivity issues. I get fed up of looking through ingredient lists all the time. Of course it doesn’t guarantee there won’t be something “natural” that you react to, but it makes it less likely.

First impressions

On first impression I liked the look of the bottle, especially the gold label with ornate illustration. It looks like this:

I also like the smell:

“Our Notes of vanilla from peru balsam essential oil complimented with a delicious top note of camphor makes for a mild, almost decadent aroma.”

From first applying it I did feel less pain, although the pain didn’t go completely. It was as if the sharp pain on moving muscles had been dulled.

Compared to Placebo

Whenever possible, I think these reviews could benefit from some comparisons, to help you make up your mind about the product. These are obviously informal and can’t be considered rigorous in anyway.

I asked my partner to rub E45 (this has a similar sensation lotion wise but no claim to help pain) on one side of my upper back/shoulder/neck area and Rejuvenation on the other side. I didn’t know which was which although the smell of Rejuvenation is hard to disguise. Both sides had symmetrical pain beforehand.

The sharp pain was dulled on the right side and the lotion absorbed into the skin better. The right side was Rejuvenation.

Compared to Similar Product

Another type of comparison which seems worthwhile is with something making the same claims. This time I used a homemade Muscle Fatigue for ME oil made using the recipe on this post.

This time I felt that the lotion on the left absorbed more easily and there was less pain than the other side. This time it was the homemade oil that out-performed Rejuvenation. This did genuinely surprise me.

Why might it work?

The ingredients list for Rejuvenation is:

Made with organic ingredients: Purified water, hemp oil, grape seed oil, apricot kernel oil, emulsifying wax, stearic acid, argan oil, magnesium, white sesame oil, jojoba oil, essential oils, 200 mg. CBD oil, fennel, licorice, turmeric, valerian, gluconolactone and sodium benzoate (certified organic preservative).

This seems to be a collection of ingredients which are considered to relieve pain.

Hemp oil and CBD oil: these oils come from the cannabis plant but aren’t psychoactive. They have been found to have medicinal properties. CBD could be a potential medicine for the treatment of neuroinflammation, epilepsy, oxidative injury, vomiting and nausea, anxiety and schizophrenia. Cannabinoids can act as neuromodulators for physiological processes such as pain-sensation.

Grape Seed Oil: “Studies suggest that Grape Seed Oil and its Extract constitute anti-inflammatory, anti-oxidant, anti-histamine, anti-aging, anti-allergic, antimicrobial, and adaptogenic activity.” Homeremediesweb

Magnesium: this is often taken as a supplement to reduce muscle pain (interestingly for me it seems to have the opposite effect see this post). Some people do take it transdermally.

Sesame oil: is used as a massage oil for pain.

Fennel essential oil: can be used as an antispasmodic.

Licorice: the chemicals in licorice are thought to decrease swelling.

Turmeric: curcumin and turmeric are very well known for pain relieving qualities (I take the curcumin form as a supplement).

Valerian: this is better known for helping sleep but is generally calming (see my Valerian review post).

Would I buy it?

If you buy 2oz it costs around £15 (depending on how badly Brexit is affecting the £). The bottle I have (8oz) costs £41 (but we can get 10% off and free delivery in the US using the code TipsforME). Since I’m not working for health reasons this does seem like a lot. I think for that I would want it to completely relieve muscle pain, whereas for me it just takes the sharpness off. Also, my homemade version seems to work better for my pain. This may not be the case for other people of course, especially as the homemade version is a recipe specific to ME, from The Fragrant Pharmacy (Valerie Ann Worwood pg 97 see here). A rough calculation makes the basic, organic ingredients for the homemade Fragrant Pharmacy version £25.50, so also not cheap, but that does include a lot of leftover essential oils to make more. On the other hand, it also costs spoons of energy to make, so some of you may prefer to simply buy the Rejuvenation version.

[Edit 12 October 2016: although for me this oil doesn’t have a strong effect on my ME myalgia I’ve continued using it and find that it is more effective for specific pains. I noted above that it is also helping with a tight chest and cough which is really getting me down. The possibility of multiple uses makes this a more attractive buy. I also prefer the smell to my homemade essential oil concoctions. I’m still not sure if I will replace my bottle but I’m leaning more positively that way now.]

You can get a 10% discount (and free US delivery) by mentioning my code TipsforME


If you liked this you’ll probably want to read:

The post with aromatherapy recipes for Spoonies

The one with lots of tips for walking and muscle problems in ME

Examples of audio pain meditations for when medication doesn’t cut it

2 thoughts on “Review: Rejuvenation Lotion

  1. Pingback: Christmas Giveaway | Tips for ME

What do you think?

